Special User Roles and Capabilities

There are two primary roles a user can have with regards to plugins.

Committer Committer

Someone with commit access has the ability to push code via SVN and make all official requests concerning a plugin to the Plugin Directory Team. Anyone with commit access has the right to request a plugin be closed, and has the ability to add and remove anyone from commit access.

In the forums, they are labeled as a “Plugin Author” and have the ability to mark posts regarding their plugin as resolved.

Other than the “Plugin Author” label in the forum for replies to plugin support topics, having commit access is not outwardly displayed. In order to be listed in the plugin’s “Contributors & Developers” section, and to have the plugin included in a WordPress.org profile, the user must be listed as a contributor (see next section).

Adding and removing commit access can only be done via the plugin’s “Advanced View” Directory Page (i.e. https://wordpress.org/plugins/your-plugin/advanced/) by one of the plugin’s existing committers.

Top ↑

Contributor Contributor

A contributor has no extra ability to directly manage the plugin itself. They cannot request changes be made to a plugin’s status in the directory.

In the forums, they are labeled as a “Plugin Contributor” and have the ability to mark posts regarding their plugin as resolved.

A contributor is publicly listed in the plugin’s “Contributors & Developers” section and the plugin is listed as one of the user’s plugins in their WordPress.org profile.

To be added as a contributor, a user must be listed within Contributors in the plugin’s readme.txt.